Living Waterways Awards 2019

Our flagship awards programme, the Living Waterways Awards, is now open for entries.

Oxford Canal murals project, Living Waterways Awards Oxford Canal murals project, Living Waterways Awards

These Awards shine a spotlight on the amazing work done by individuals, communities and organisations to make life better by water by creating vibrant thriving living waterways.

The Awards are led by an independent panel of judges under the guardianship of Sue Wilkinson, trustee of the Trust. Past winners have come from the voluntary, environmental, arts, heritage, engineering and architecture sectors, reflecting the any different projects that are transforming canals, rivers, lochs, lakes and reservoirs across the four nations.

Sue Wilkinson said: "We are delighted to open the 2019 awards for entries and are very much looking forward to recognising the UK’s most inspiring and exciting waterway-based projects. 

"We want to hear from those people and projects that using our inland waterways to make a real and lasting difference to lives in England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland."

Award sponsors

We are very grateful to our sponsors for their continued support for the Awards:

Kier (principal sponsor), Amco Giffen, Arcadis, CPC Civils, Fountains, Land & Water, Vinci

Award categories

There are six categories up for grabs:

  1. Art, Culture or Events
  2. Built Environment
  3. Engaging Communities
  4. Heritage & Conservation
  5. Learning & Skills
  6. Natural Environment

How to enter

Download the entry form and guidance notes then return the completed the entry form to us via email by 12 noon Friday 22 March 2019. The assessment panel find photos or film of the project particularly helpful in bringing entry forms to life.

Do consider whether this is the right year to put your project forward for an award. The judges always look for evidence of success and if your scheme is relatively new, it may be better to wait until the outcomes can be clearly demonstrated.

Awards timeline

  • Monday 4 February: Awards open for entries
  • Friday 22 March: Closing date
  • Thursday 4 July: Finalists announced
  • Autumn 2019: Winners announced a gala ceremony in Birmingham

Last date edited: 4 February 2019