Canal pairs championships

The canal pairs championships are organised in partnership between the Canal & River Trust and Angling Trust, with sponsorship from Dynamite Baits. With the 2020 regional qualifying heats announced, find out more about below.

Canal Pairs Championships Shropshire Union Canal Canal Pairs Championships Shropshire Union Canal

Organised in partnership between the Canal & River Trust and the Angling Trust with sponsorship from Dynamite Baits, the championship sees regional qualifying heats cross England with further heats in Wales, Ireland and Scotland.

Qualifying heats 2020

  • Sunday 21 June Coventry Canal, Coventry, Dave Allibone, max. 25 pairs
  • Sunday 28 June Grand Union Canal, Bugbrooke Birds Haulage, Chris Howard, max. 31 pairs
  • Sunday 12 July Shropshire Union Canal, Soudley, Dave Watkins & Terry Nutt, max. 50 pairs (moved from Sunday 24 May)
  • Sunday 19 July Grand Union Canal, Bugbrooke Banbury Lane, Chris Howard, max. 31 pairs
  • Saturday 25 July Gloucester & Sharpness Canal, Mark Treasure (moved from Sunday 7 June)
  • Sunday 26 July Shropshire Union Canal, Pendeford, Paul Turner, max. 41 pairs (moved from Sunday 14 June)
  • Sunday 2 August Dudley Canal, Steve Robson
  • Sunday 9 August Moira Canal, Furnace & Donnesthorpe sections, David Gough, max. 26 pairs (moved from Sunday 10 May)
  • Sunday 16 August Shropshire Union Canal, Goldstone and Soudley, Dave Watkins & Terry Nutt, max. 50 pairs (moved from Sunday 30 August)
  • Saturday 22 August Kennet & Avon Canal, Hungerford, John Williams (moved from Saturday 6 June)
  • Sunday 23 August Grand Union Canal, Cooks Wharf, Cheddington, Dick Pilkinton *VENUE CHANGED*
  • Saturday 5 September Gloucester & Sharpness Canal, Mark Treasure (unlimited numbers)
  • Sunday 6 September, Bridgewater Canal/Leeds & Liverpool Canal, Leigh, Danny Martin, max. 50 pairs
  • Sunday 13 September Lancaster Canal, Mike Wilson
  • Saturday 19 September Leeds & Liverpool Canal, Saltaire, Richard East
  • Sunday 20 September Grand Union Loughborough, Geoff Quinn/Joff Woodgett
  • Saturday 26 September Trent & Mersey Canal, Rugeley, Alan Round/Tony Vandome
  • Sunday 27 September Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal, South Wales heat, Iain Swanson
  • Saturday 3 October Trent & Mersey Canal, Middlewich, Neil Latham (unlimited numbers)
  • Saturday 3 October Kennet & Avon Canal, Pewsey, Alan McColm
  • Sunday 4 October Llangollen Canal, Fenns Bank, North Wales heat, Dave Watkins & Terry Nutt
  • Saturday 10 October 2020 Grand Union Canal, Foxton, Peter Laughton (moved from Saturday 16 May)

Rearrangement in discussion

Sunday 31 May Grand Canal, Offely (Ireland heat), Geoff Quinn
Saturday 8 August Forth & Clyde Canal, Scotland heat, Gus Brindle

Cancelled

Saturday 13 June Stainforth & Keadby Canal, Mike Storey

Grand final 2020

Saturday 24 October Trent & Mersey Canal, Middlewich & Wheelock areas, Neil Latham

Number of qualifiers from each heat 

Number of pairs entering qualifier Numbers going through to final
Less than 8 pairs Heat cancelled
8-10 2
11-15 3
16-20 4
21-25 5
26-30 6
31-35 7
26-40 8
41-45 9
46-50 10
51 plus 11 maximum regardless of numbers of pairs competing
  • Minimum qualifying heat size of 8 pairs
  • Maximum entry 50 pairs unless stated
  • Qualifiers ahead of Division 1 & Division 2 nationals may have unlimited number of pairs as will the qualifier at Middlewich (which is a practice opportunity for those who have qualified at that stage)

Where less than 50 pairs can enter due to size of venue, maximum number listed. 

Last date edited: 8 August 2020