2016 Living Waterways Awards

The 2016 Living Waterways Awards finalists have now been announced.

Helix Towpath, last year's Living Waterways Award winner Helix Towpath, last year's Living Waterways Award winner

Led by an independent panel of experts from the voluntary, environmental, arts, heritage, engineering and architecture sectors, the Living Waterways Awards celebrate the fantastic work done by individuals, communities and organisations to improve their canals, rivers, lochs and lakes making them exciting places to live, learn and spend time.

Richard Parry, chief executive of the Canal & River Trust, explains: “We are delighted to open the 2016 awards for entries and we look forward to finding out about and recognising the most inspiring and exciting waterway-based projects across the UK. 

“We are searching for those people and projects that have done the most to make a difference to the nation’s canals and rivers - transforming the places they pass through, and enriching the lives of all who use them.”

Christopher Rodrigues CBE, chairman of VisitBritain and chair of the awards’ independent panel of experts, adds: “It is thanks to the dedication and hard work of communities and organisations, both large and small, across the nation, that our waterways are the wonderful destinations they are today. "

Award categories

From inspirational story-telling to dedicated volunteer-led schemes; innovative design and construction projects to pioneering environmental initiatives, there are seven award categories up for grabs:

1. Art and Interpretation
2. Contribution to the Built Environment
3. Community and Volunteering
4. Education and Learning
5. Natural Environment
6. Recreation and Tourism
7. Restoration and Historic Environment



Winning helped us appreciate the positive impact we have each day on the lives of our community on Lough Erne. It was wonderful to reward all the generous efforts of our volunteers. We are still beaming with our success.

Olivia Cosgrove, chairperson of Row the Erne, winner of last year’s Community and Volunteering category

Last date edited: 15 September 2016