We love and care for your canals and rivers, because everyone deserves a place to escape.

News article created on 23 October 2015

Candidates announced for Canal & River Trust Council elections

Candidates for roles on the Canal & River Trust’s governing Council have been announced today, ahead of voting which takes places from 13 November - 11 December.

The candidates are standing to represent a number of groups, with those elected sitting on the Council for four years starting in March 2016.

The full list of candidates is:

Boating: 8 candidates for 4 places on the Council
Steven John Wickes
Stella Ridgway
Ruth McCabe
Richard Phasey
Vaughan Welch
Phil Prettyman
Jim Owen
Roger Stocker

Business Boating: 4 candidates for 2 places on the Council
Andrew Tidy
Tracy Cornish
Nigel Hamilton
Ed Helps

Volunteers: 3 candidates for 1 place on the Council
Terry Johnson
Graham Newman
Ian McCarthy

Employees: 4 candidates for 1 place on the Council
John Ellis
Craig O’Brien
Sarina Young
Tracey Jackson

Friends: Unfortunately none of the nominees had sufficient sponsors to stand in the election. The Appointments Committee will therefore consider co-opting a Friend onto the Council so that the growing numbers of individuals supporting the Trust have a role

Allan Leighton, Canal & River Trust chair, said: “We’ve a really strong list of people putting themselves forward for election.  These roles are essential to ensuring the Trust's Council has representation from a variety of interests and perspectives. Now is the time for those eligible to vote to find out more about what the candidates offer. I’d like to thank all who have shown an interest in working with us and wish the best of luck to everyone going into the election.”

The election process is being run independently of the Trust by Electoral Reform Services (ERS) and is an online process. ERS are providing a secure dedicated website which includes the Candidates’ manifestos www.votebyinternet.com/CRTelections2015

Candidates have until 5pm on 30 October to withdraw if they wish, with the final list being confirmed on 2 November and voting opening on 13 November. ERS will email a new unique login to everyone eligible to vote (and send a login code by post to people without email). Voters will then have four weeks until Friday, 11 December to login to the website and cast their vote online. Results will be announced on Monday, 14 December.  

The Council is made up of 40 nominated, co-opted or elected members as well as the Chairs of the waterway partnerships. Together they reflect the wide appeal of the waterways – from boating and angling through to walking and conservation. The Council is responsible for the appointment of Trustees, helps to shape policies and provides guidance and perspective to Trustees.