We love and care for your canals and rivers, because everyone deserves a place to escape.

Meet the environment team

Find out who's who in the Canal & River Trust environment team

Environment managers

Peter Birch, MIEMA, CEnv
Group environmental manager
Peter is responsible for our environment team. He provides day-to-day support on a wide range of issues, helping the team to make our waterway environment healthy and diverse.
peter.birch@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Jonathan Hart-Woods, BSc (Hons), CEnv, IEEM, Tech Cert Arb
Environment manager in the North East
Jonny is our tree specialist. He holds Natural England licences for White-clawed crayfish and Floating water plantain work and also spends a lot of time on fish passes in the North East.
jonathan.hart-woods@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Oda Dijksterhuis - BSc. (Hons), MSc, IEEM, CEnv
Environment manager for Wales & West
Oda is our lead expert on water voles. Her work also includes creation of offline reserves, major relining schemes, development of a solar system, improving canals for aquatic life and installation of many miles of green bank restoration.
oda.dijksterhuis@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Cath Ferguson – BSc. (Hons), DPS, MIEEM, CEnv
Environment manager in the North West
Cath Ferguson has worked for us for over 15 years. After training in biological sciences and several years working for Loughborough University, both in the UK and overseas, Cath joined British Waterways, now the Canal & River Trust as an ecologist.
cath.ferguson@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Richard Bennett

Environment manager in the South East
Worked for us since 2001, in ecology and environmental science roles, mostly around the Midlands. As an environment manager, he supports teams in London and South East. richard.bennett@canalrivertrust.org.uk

National experts

Nick Smith – FRICS, MCIWM, CEnv
National waste and contamination surveyor
Nick is our national waste and contamination surveyor. He advises us on the implications of waste management legislation, provides support/guidance to operational staff and responds to waste related consultations.
nick.smith@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Mark Robinson BSc. (Hons), PhD (Cantab.), IEEM, CEnv
National ecologist & ecologist for South Wales and Severn
Mark provides support to the South Wales & West regions, as well as having a national focus, providing specialist support and advice on protected and invasive fauna. He has several protected species licences, including, dormice, crayfish, badgers as well as being a licenced bat worker.
mark.robinson@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Sara James
National water quality scientist
sara.james@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Stuart Moodie BSc, MIEEM, CEnv.

National ecoogist
Stuart works with a wide range of canal wildlife; aquatic water plants, including the internationally protected floating water plantain, badgers and water voles.
stuart.moodie@canalrivertrust.org.uk

Last date edited: 15 July 2015